Document Type

Blog Post

Publication Date



Following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, Secretary Alejandro N. Mayorkas of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced that Ukraine has been designated for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for 18 months from April 19, 2022 to October 17, 2023. Eligible Ukrainian nationals who receive TPS are protected from deportation, allowed to live and work in the United States, and may be granted travel authorization. Under the designation of Ukraine, DHS estimates that roughly 59,000 individuals could be eligible to receive TPS. Despite the temporary nature of the program that allows TPS recipients to stay in the United States for a limited period of time, TPS can be extended indefinitely for additional periods of 6, 12 or 18 months by the DHS depending on the conditions of the designated country. Most TPS recipients from other designations have been living in the United States for decades.